Opposition files motion of no confidence against 6 ministers

Earlier today (31 January), the opposition filed a motion of no-confidence against 6 ministers, including prime minister Gen Prayut Chan-o-cha, and plans to open the debate on 19 February.

Other than Gen Prayut, the remaining five ministers include deputy prime ministers Gen Prawit Wongsuwan and Wissanu Krea-ngam, Minister of Interior Anupong Paochinda, Minister of Foreign Affairs Don Pramudwinai, and Deputy Minister of Agriculture and Cooperatives Thammanat Prompow.

With the exception of Don, the five ministers all had roles in the National Council of Peace and Order (NCPO), which staged the military coup in 2014.

House Speaker Chuan Leekpai told the National Assembly Radio and Television Broadcasting Station that the motion will be submitted to the Secretariat of the House of Representatives to check whether the documents are correct before the House debates the motion.

Chuan said that he will have to discuss with the government, the opposition, and the ministers listed in the motion before the debate can be scheduled. Meanwhile, opposition chief whip Suthin Klangsaeng said that after a discussion with government chief whip Wirat Rattanaset, they agreed that the debate should take place on 19 February. However, there are still disagreements over how long the debate will take. 

According to Section 151 of the 2017 Constitution, the process for a vote of no-confidence can be evoked if at least one-fifth of the members of the House of Representatives submit a motion for a general debate for the purpose of passing a vote of no confidence in an individual minister or the entire cabinet.

If more than half of the 500 MPs voted on a no confidence against a minister, the minister will have to resign. However, if they voted on a no confidence against the Prime Minister, not only that the Prime Minister will have to resign, the cabinet will also have to resign in its entirety.